NGAA Awards 2024

The 2024 NGAA Awards celebrate and showcase excellence and best practice from projects and initiatives supporting the development of growth areas across the country.

Submissions will be assessed by a panel of industry experts and winners will be announced at the NGAA Awards Dinner, during Congress, on Thursday, 30 May 2024, Penrith NSW. 

Category 1 - Research and Practice

This category will showcase research or innovative practice that has been led by Local Government and which has resulted in improved outcomes for growth areas. Entries may be based on projects undertaken solely by an individual Council, a group of Councils or in collaboration with industry or academia.

Category 2 - Built Environment

This category is for completed projects in the built environment that show best practice design, collaboration, and impact.

Category 3 - Partnerships - Building Connections

This category showcases partnerships and collaboration that have achieved better outcomes for communities. Partnerships need to include local government, and may be in collaboration with Industry, Local, State of Federal Government, Community Groups or Other Stakeholders.

Category 4 - Advocacy

This category is in support of Councils’ efforts to achieve outcomes in funding or policy that were achieved through dedicated advocacy efforts (to any level of government).

Category 5 - Leadership in Growth Areas

This category is aimed at recognising an individual or team from within a NGAA Member Council who has shown an outstanding commitment and leadership to pursuing better outcomes for growth areas, in any aspect of Council work. This award will be offered as ongoing recognition of the leadership of the founders of NGAA.


Entries will be assessed on the following criteria:
  • What makes this project different from standard practice? To what extent does the project demonstrate innovation?
  • In what ways does this project contribute to advancing industry best practices aimed at enhancing the quality of life in growth areas? 
  • What was the result? Provide evidence that the objectives were successfully met. 
  • How will this project contribute to better outcomes for growth areas and building resilient, liveable, and thriving communities?

2024 Awards Timeline

Expressions of Interest open Friday, 1 March 2024
Expressions of Interest close 5pm Friday, 29 April 2024
Full award submissions due 5pm Friday 3 May 2024
Winners announced at NGAA Awards Dinner, 30 May 2024, Penrith

Submit an Expression of Interest here

Previous Awards

2023 Awards

2018 - 2022 Awards